It’s Time To Call Your Legislators

CGACurrent law already bans pesticides (with some exceptions) on elementary schools and day-care centers. Now we need to expand this protection to high school students and the general public.  Also, these chemicals are killing our ponds, rivers and Long Island Sound.

Please take a few moments to call or email your Ct State Rep or Senator.  Legislator contact info and a sample message are below.

Branford and Cheshire have clearly demonstrated that athletic fields can be well-maintained without using these dangerous chemicals. For more information, download the 2015 CT Environmental Briefings CTLCV by the Connecticut League of Conservation Voters.

CT House of Representatives Contact Info:
Christie.Carpino@housegop.ct.gov   860-240-8700 (Cromwell, Portland)
Melissa.Ziobron@housegop.ct.gov   860-240-8700 (East Hampton, East Haddam)
Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov   860-240-8585 (Middletown
Matthew.Lesser@cga.ct.gov   860-240-8585 (Middletown, Middlefield, Durham)

CT Senate Contact Info.
Art.Linares@cga.ct.gov   860-240-8800 (East Hampton, Essex, Old Saybrook, Clinton)
Dante Bartolomeo       Bartolomeo@senatedems.ct.gov   860-240-0475 (Middletown, Meriden)
Paul Doyle      Doyle@senatedems.ct.gov   860-240-0475 (Middletown, Cromwell, Rocky Hill, Wethersfield)

Sample Message:
“I am calling/writing to ask (name of legislator) to support expanding the ban on pesticides to high schools, parks, and other places where children play. These are dangerous chemicals known to cause cancer and other illnesses. They have already done serious damage to our waterways and to Long Island Sound. Thank you for your consideration of my views on this issue.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.